Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections

What is a finding aid?

A finding aid is a tool archivists create to help users navigate a collection of materials, like a person's papers, or an organization's records.  A finding aid usually begins with introductory biographical or historical information and describes the extent or amount of material in a collection.  Following the introduction, a list of different types of materials organized as 'series' such as correspondence or photographs usually follows.  Click on one of the finding aids listed on this page to explore more, and feel free to reach out to the archives with questions about the collections.

Archival Collections

Saint Joseph's University Papers

A collection of institutional and organizational records of Saint Joseph’s University dating from 1851-2019, consisting of photographs, correspondence, documents, memorabilia, scrapbooks and yearbooks which document and evidence the history of the administrative and academic units and activities of SJU’s administration, faculty, staff and students. A finding aid describes the collection and provides a container-level inventory.

 

Martin I.J. Griffin Papers

Papers documenting part of the writing, research, and biography of Martin I.J. Griffin (1842-1911), an avid contributor to the documentation of Catholic history.  A finding aid describes the collection and provides a container-level inventory.

 

Rev. Donald I. MacLean, S.J., Papers

Papers dating from 1970-1988 of the late Jesuit who worked as a professor, laboratory researcher, and university administrator.  A finding aid describes the collection and provides a series-level inventory.

 

Dr. Thomas M. Keefe American Popular Culture Collection

Old time radio shows, jazz, big band, easy listening, and other music genres dating from the 1930s on that have had widespread influence within both United States and international societies

 

Thomas M. Foglietta Collection

Papers of the late congressman and ambassador to Italy, and graduate of SJU’s class of 1949.  A finding aid describes the collection and provides a series-level inventory.

 

Jesuitica Collection

Material objects related to the Society of Jesus (the Jesuits) including books published between the 16th and 21st centuries, unpublished manuscripts, correspondence, engravings, broadsheets, coins, medals, and relics