HIS 385: History of Women in America

Search all U.S. historical newspapers subscriptions from one location.

Focusing on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas. Content predominantly from Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina.

Primary source materials for the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination, and racial theory in America. Over 100 hours of speeches, survey materials, case studies, campaigns against voter suppression, photographs, scrapbooks, and posters.

Thousands of rare books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. Insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasis on contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

Feminist pamphlets, diaries and correspondence, advice literature, etiquette books, images of physical items, and others spotlighting a host of topics and themes related to gender, suffrage, sex and sexuality, and feminism. Content from the United States, Canada, UK, and Australia.

Explore domestic consumerism, life and leisure in America between 1850-1950 through trade catalogues, cards and marketing ephemera. Track the rise of the "American dream" and the evolution of commerce in America.

Contains digitized editions of several dozen regional California newspapers, dating back to the 1850's.

A collection of local and regional Illinois newspapers dating to the 1840's.

A collection of several regional/local Kentucky newspapers with coverage dating back to the 1850's.

A searchable list of digitized historic newspapers from across the United States. This collection includes publications dating back to the 1780's.

A collection of New York regional newspapers. You can browse by county or by title, with content dating to the mid 1800's.

A collection of indexes and digitized copies of prominent Missouri newspapers dating to the 1850's.