Skip to main content

Newspapers and News

Locating newspapers and news sources.

The Philadelphia Inquirer

The Inquirer is a regional general interest newspaper that provides local, national, and international news coverage. It is available in print/microfilm and electronic formats.

Print / Microfilm in Library
2002-current.
Entire paper, cover-to-cover.

Publisher's website
Limited free access.

Database access -

The Philadelphia Daily News

The Daily News is a tabloid, general interest newspaper with an emphasis on Philadelphia local news, national sports, and entertainment.

Publisher's website
Limited free access.

Database access -

The Philadelphia Tribune

"The Philadelphia Tribune, founded in 1884 by Christopher James Perry, Sr., is America’s oldest and the Greater Philadelphia region’s largest newspaper serving the African-American community."

Print/Microfilm in Library
Library retains current three months in newspapers.

Publisher's website

The Wall Street Journal

The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.

Publisher's website

Print/Microfilm in Library
2001- 2016; entire paper cover-to-cover.

Database access -

The New York Times

The United States' unofficial newspaper of record. Comprehensive coverage of national, foreign, business and local news comes from The Times' extensive foreign news network and bureaus around the United States.  The Library has the NYT in various formats from 1851 - current.

Print in the Library
Entire paper cover-to-cover. Current three months on Newspaper Shelves.

Publisher's website

Database access -

The Washington Post

"An acknowledged influence far beyond the metropolitan area for which it is edited... with a serious interest in foreign news.... One of The Post's greatest strengths is its national political coverage and tough investigative reporting of federal government and Washington metropolitan affairs.

Print/Microfilm in Library
Entire paper cover-to-cover; print: current 3 months only.

Publisher's website

Database access -

The Christian Science Monitor

Analyzes, interprets, and puts all the news it reports in perspective. Emphasis is given to spotting trends in world politics, business, industry, social and cultural life. International coverage, particularly news of developing countries, is especially strong.

Microfilm in Library
Jan 1972 - April 1994; entire paper cover-cover.

Publisher's website

Database access -

The Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle of Higher Education is a weekly publication, standing as the leading source of information and news for colleges and universities.

Print/Microfilm in Library

1965/1966-2015/2016 on microfilm; Current 12 months in print.

The Times of London

Great Britain's newspaper of record

Microfilm in Library
Entire paper cover-to-cover.
Years available: 1785 - 1852, 1900-1920, 1968 - 1974, 1977 - 1995.

Publisher's website

Database access -

The Financial Times (London)

The Financial times publishes a unique blend of business, political and cultural news that has made it the dominant English-language business newspaper of Europe.

Publisher's website

Database access -