Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ethical Use of Multimedia
According to U.S. copyright law, any produced work, including videos, is automatically copyrighted from the moment of its creation, meaning that in order to distribute the work to others, you must seek out permission from the creator. More and more videos, however, are being made freely and legitimately available online to anyone who wishes to watch them.
Please take a look at the following Guide to see how to access and use these resources ethically.
Using online multimedia
Audio, Video and Document Collections
Papers of the Presidents, Avalon
From the Yale Law School Lillian Goldman Law Library, the Avalon Project provides transcripts of some presidential papers, as well as a larger collection of important international papers (Nuremburg Trials, Human Rights Archive).
National Archives, Digital Vault
A searchable and browseable collection of images and information from the National Archives Collection. Each search provides connections to other similar or related topics and images.
American History Digital Collections from Library of Congress
From the Library of Congress, the American Memory Program makes available infomation on different topics of American history, such as advertising, religion and Native American history, in document, photographic and audio formats.
History and Politics Out Loud
A searchable archive of audio recordings of significant speeches and events in history.
Nixon Presidential Library
Access to documents from the Nixon presidency, including documents, White House tapes and photographs.
John F. Kennedy Library and Museum
The Historical Archives section of the Kennedy Library site contains information and some access to photographs, audiovisual and audio recordings in the collectio