It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended sources of industry and company ratios.
Business Ratios and Formulas, 3rd by Steven M. Bragg"An ideal tool for measuring corporate performance, this authoritative resource allows managers and auditors to pick and choose the tools they need to best assess their organization's performance. Each formula includes a complete description, explanation of the calculation, an example, and cautions regarding its use." "The Third Edition includes approximately twenty new ratios and formulas covering fixed-charge coverage ratio; free cash flow formula; capital-labor ratio; cash coverage ratio; value at risk formula; cash conversion efficiency metric; and open/close requisition ratio. For professionals needing to compile information about a company's long-term performance, the new edition describes how to use an electronic spreadsheet to compile a standard set of measurements, using Microsoft Excel as the template." (from the inside flap of 3rd edition)
Industry profiles covering trends, risk, challenges, and operating conditions. Access First Research through Mergent Intellect .
Nexis Uni: BusinessUse to find information on both public and private companies,
compiled from a variety of sources. Content includes
news, financial, legal, and intellectual property.
BloombergFinancial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for international and domestic markets.
To find a company's ratios:
Type the company ticker symbol (eg. SBUX) and press the <EQUITY> key
Type DES and press <GO>
Scroll to page 3
Mergent OnlineMergent Online provides financial information on U.S. and international companies.
U.S. Company Data & International Company Data
U.S. and International Company Archives
D&B Million Dollar Database
Country profiles and country risk profiles
FactSetFactSet provides access to data and analytics on global financial and economic markets and companies. It is a subscription of the Haub School of Business.
IBISWorldU.S. industry reports include performance, outlook, competition, supply chain, barriers to entry, and key statistics.
Print Sources of Industry Ratios
RMA annual statement studies by Risk Management AssociationLATEST EDITION ON RESERVE. Contains composite financial data on over 400 industries including manufacturing, retailing, service, and contracting lines of business. Financial statements on each industry are shown in common size form and are accompanied by widely used ratios. Current data for each industry is presented sorted by sales and sorted by assets. In addition, some comparative historical data is presented.
Call Number: HF5681.B2 R58
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios by Philip WilsonLATEST EDITION ON RESERVE. The comprehensive resource puts 50 comparative performance indicators and covers all of North America (U.S., Canada, and Mexico) using NAICS data. The Almanac provides financial information that is calculated and derived from the latest available IRS data on nearly 5 million U.S. and international companies. The Almanac gives you accurate performance data for 50 operating and financial factors in 199 industries.