Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIS 201: American History to 1877: Primary Documents

Primary and Secondary Sources

For more information on these sources, visit the Primary and Secondary Sources Guide.

Newspaper and Magazine Archives

Guides to Finding Personal Narratives

The following volumes are located in the Reference Collection, 1st floor of Drexel Library.

Notable Women in American History : A guide to Recommended Biographies and Autobiographies
Drexel Library Reference (1st fl.) CT3260.A27 1999
( view catalog record)

American Autobiography, 1945-1980 : A Bibliography.
( view catalog record)

An Annotated Bibliography of Published American Diaries and Journals.
Drexel Library ReferenceCT214 .A474 1983
( view catalog record)

Civil War Diaries and Personal Narratives, 1960-1994 : A selected Bibliography of Books in the General Collections of the Library of Congress.
Drexel Library Reference E464.L47 1998
( view catalog record)

Travels in the Old South: A Bibliography.
Drexel Library Reference F207.5.C59
( view catalog record)

Civil War Eyewitnesses : An Annotated Bibliography of Books and Articles, 1986-1996.
Drexel Library Reference E601.C78 2000
( view catalog record)

The Published Diaries and Letters of American Women : An Annotated Bibliography.
Drexel Library Reference CT3260.U5 G66 1987
( view catalog record)

Index to the American Slave
Drexel Library Reference E444.A45 Suppl.3
( view catalog record)

American Diaries; An Annotated Bibliography of American Diaries Written Prior to the Year 1861.
Drexel Library Reference CT213.M43
( view catalog record)

Civil War Books: A Critical Bibliography.
Drexel Library Reference E456.N52
( view catalog record)

Regimental Publications & Personal Narratives of the Civil War : A Checklist New Jersey and Pennsylvania v1. part 4.
Drexel Library Reference E470.D71 V.1 Pt.4
( view catalog record)

Subject Librarian

Daniel Holden's picture
Daniel Holden
Contact:
Serials & Electronic Resources Librarian
Post Learning Commons and Drexel Library
Room 178
Saint Joseph's University
610-660-1984

Databases