Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIS 362: The Civil War Era: Books

Quick Tips

Use the books listedon this page to help locate diaries, collections of letters and personal memoirs/autobiographies written by "Americans" who wrote about or participated in the nineteenth-century westward migration or the American Civil War.

Select Library of Congress Subject Headings

Use the Library of Congress Subject Headings listed below to do a subject search of the Library's catalog for diaries, collections of letters, personal memoirs/autobiographies and other works related to the Civil War Era.

Select Library of Congress Subject Headings

African American political activists -- Biography.

African American soldiers -- Biography.

African Americans--Biography.

Antislavery movements United States

Charleston (S.C.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.

Confederate States of America -- Biography.

Confederate States of America. Army of Northern Virginia. Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889.

Fort Sumter ( Charleston, S.C.) -- Siege, 1861.

Generals -- Confederate States of America -- Biography.

Generals -- United States -- Biography.

Gettysburg National Military Park ( Pa.)

Gettysburg, Battle of, Gettysburg, Pa., 1863.

Grant, Ulysses S. (Ulysses Simpson), 1822-1885 -- Military leadership.

Kentucky -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Campaigns.

Lee, Robert E. (Robert Edward), 1807-1870.

Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865.

Massachusetts -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Regimental histories.

Massachusetts -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Regimental histories.

Medicine, Military -- United States -- History -- 19th century.

New York (State) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Congresses.

North Carolina -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Naval operations -- Anecdotes.

Pennsylvania -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Participation, German American.

Plantation life

Plantation life -- Mississippi -- Delta (Region)

Political culture -- United States -- History -- 19th century.

Political science -- United States -- History -- 19th century.

Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) -- Mississippi -- Delta (Region)

Republican Party (U.S. : 1854- ) -- History -- 19th century.

Richmond ( Va.) -- History -- Siege, 1864-1865.

Secession -- Southern States.

Shenandoah River Valley ( Va. and W. Va.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.

Sherman, William T. (William Tecumseh), 1820-1891.

Slaveholders

Slavery -- Political aspects -- United States -- History -- 19th century.

Slavery -- United States -- Extension to the territories.

Slavery and the church

Slavery confederate States of America

Slavery emancipation

Slavery in literature

Slavery law and legislation United States

Slavery Southern States

Slavery United States

Slavery-- United States--Personal narratives.

Slaves -- United States -- Biography.

Slaves emancipation United States

Slaves United States

Slaves' writings

Slaves' writings, American.

Slaves-- United States--Biography.

Southern States -- Politics and government -- 1775-1865.

Tennessee -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Campaigns.

Underground railroad

United States -- Description and travel -- 1783-1848.

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- African Americans.

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Biography.

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Campaigns.

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Causes.

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Maps.

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives.

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Press coverage.

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Protest movements.

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Regimental histories.

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Religious aspects.

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Secret service.

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Social aspects.

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources.

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Statistics.

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Women.

United States -- History, Military.

United States -- Politics and government -- 1845-1861.

United States -- Politics and government -- 1861-1865.

United States. Army -- African American troops -- History -- 19th century.

United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives.

Virginia -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.

Washington (D.C.) -- Biography.

Washington (D.C.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.

Women spies -- Confederate States of America -- Biography. Spies -- Confederate States of America -- Biography.

Library Catalog -- Searching for a Particular Title/Author

Books Library Catalog Search   
  • The Library Catalog is best used when searching for a specific title or author. 
  • You can search across additional fields such as ISBN or Call Number etc.
  • You can also search for specific "subjects" as defined by the Library of Congress
  • You can restrict your search to a particular collection e.g. Campbell or Drexel Popular Reading.
Use this catalog if you need to capture a permanent link to the record for a resource.

Books

American Diaries: An Annotated Bibliography of American Diaries Written Prior to the Year 1861
(view catalog record)

American Diaries: An Annotated Bibliography of Published American Diaries and Journals
(view catalog record)

American National Biography
(view catalog record)

Biographical Dictionary of the Confederacy
(view catalog record)

Black Demographic Data, 1790-1860: A Sourcebook
(view catalog record)

Black Slavery in the Americas: An Interdisciplinary Bibliography, 1865-1980
(view catalog record)

Civil War Books: A Critical Bibliography
(view catalog record)

Civil War Diaries and Personal Narratives , 1960-1994 : A Selected Bibliography of Books in the General Collections of the Library of Congress
(view catalog record)

Civil War Eyewitnesses : An Annotated Bibliography of Books and Articles, 1986-1996
(view catalog record)

Civil War Maps: An Annotated List of Maps and Atlases in the Library of Congress
(view catalog record)

The Civil War Society’s Encyclopedia of the Civil War
(view catalog record)

The Confederate Soldier in the Civil War
(view catalog record)

A Compendium of the War of the Rebellion
(view catalog record)

A Comprehensive Name Index for The American Slave
(view catalog record)

Descriptive Bibliography of Civil War Manuscript in Illinois
(view catalog record)

Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery
(view catalog record)

Dictionary of American Negro Biography
(view catalog record)

A Documentary History of the Negro People in the United States
(view catalog record)

Encyclopedia of Black America
(view catalog record)

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
(view catalog record)

Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights: From Emancipation to the Present
( view catalog record)

Encyclopedia of Civil War Bibliography
(view catalog record)

Encyclopedia of Southern Culture
(view catalog record)

Encyclopedia of Southern History
(view catalog record)

Encyclopedia of the American Civil War
(view catalog record)

Encyclopedia of the Confederacy
(view catalog record)

Freedom's Lawmakers: A Directory of Black Officeholders During Reconstruction
(view catalog record)

Generals in Gray: Lives of the Confederate Commanders
(view catalog record)

Harvard Guide to American History
(view catalog record)

Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery
(view catalog record)

History of Pennsylvania Volunteers
(view catalog record)

Index to the American Slave
(view catalog record)

Interpreting Southern History: Historiographical Essays in honor of Sanford W. Higginbotham
(view catalog record)

Judicial Cases Concerning American Slavery and the Negro
(view catalog record)

National Cyclopaedia of American Biography
(view catalog record)

Negro Population in the United States, 1790-1915
(view catalog record)

Notable American Women, 1607-1950: A Biographical Dictionary
(view catalog record)

Notable Black American Women
(view catalog record)

Notable Black American Women: Book II
(view catalog record)

Notable Women in American History : A Guide to Recommended Biographies and Autobiographies
( view catalog record)

The Published Diaries and Letters of American Women : An Annotated Bibliography
(view catalog record)

Regimental Publications & Personal Narratives of the Civil War : A Checklist
(view catalog record)

Slavery in the Courtroom: An Annotated Bibliogrpahy of American Cases
(view catalog record)

A Tour Guide to the Civil War
(view catalog record)

Travels in the Confederate States: A Bibliography
(view catalog record)

Travels in the Old South: A Bibliography
(view catalog record)

Whites Conspectus of American Biography
(view catalog record)

 

Subject Librarian

Daniel Holden's picture
Daniel Holden
Contact:
Serials & Electronic Resources Librarian
Post Learning Commons and Drexel Library
Room 178
Saint Joseph's University
610-660-1984