HIS 362: The Civil War Era: Web Sites

From Project Avalon at Yale University Law School.

Memorial and museum honoring the role of the African American in the Civil War.

A listing of African American related web sites compiled by the University Libraries at the University of Washington.

Digital Schomburg at the New York Public Library.

Ever-expanding Historical Collections from the National Digital Library, are taken from the Library of Congress special collections and consist of primary source and archival materials relating to US history and culture. [Reviewed]

Mapping the Civil War 1861-1865

Images from the New York Historical Society

The Library of Congress presents the papers of the nineteenth-century African-American abolitionist who escaped from slavery and then risked his own freedom by becoming an outspoken antislavery lecturer, writer, and publisher.

Most of the pictures in this collection were taken under the supervision of famed civil War photographer Mattew Brady.

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.

During the late 1930s writers of the Works Progress Administration, interviewed thousands of former slaves throughout the American south. This Web site offers annotated transcripts of selected interviews with commentary on their research value and explana

A project of the U.S. Census Bureau to make historical material available to the public.

Materials from the Virginia Military Institute Archives.

Resources from the National Park Service related to the Civil War.

Primary documents available through the Avalon Project at Yale University Law School.

Over 981 books and manuscripts on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Organized into the the following projects:

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill online collections documenting Southern life during the Civil War.

Documents the individual and collective story of the African American struggle for freedom and human rights. Will eventually contain all the narratives of fugitive and former slaves published in English up to 1920.

Part of Cornell University Library's digital Making of America collection of primary sources in United States social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

The society has extensive collections related to Civil War resources, manuscripts, and women during the era.

Letters from Newton Robert Scott, Private, Company A, of the 36th Infantry, Iowa Volunteers to friend Hannah Cone describing his war experiences.

An ongoing digital library of primary sources in US social history (1850-77) created in cooperation with Cornell University and supported by the Mellon Foundation. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Keeper of United States historical documents and records.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill online collections documenting the struggle of African Americans for freedom and human rights.

Part of Cornell University Library's digital Making of America collection of primary sources.

Photographs from the American Memory collections at the Library of Congress.

Overview of materials in the Library of Congress about the African American experience covering the nearly 500 years of the black experience in the Western hemisphere. Includes books, periodicals, prints, photographs, music, film, and recorded sound.

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania museum

A local archive of primary source documents that may be worth a visit.

The valley project details life in two American communities, on Northern and one Southern, fro the time of John Browns Raid through the Era of Reconstruction.

Part of Cornell University Library's digital Making of America collection of primary sources.

A collection of original writings of 49 voyagers on Mormon, California, Oregon and Montana trails who wrote while traveling on the trail.

Learn about the war's causes, battles, and leaders from this award winning site.

Department of History maps of the war in electronic format.

Catalog containing the materials collected at the Library Company of Philadelphia and other libraries. Materials include rare books, broadsides, pamphlets, wood cuts, lithographs, and maps.

This collection contains high-quality scans of archival materials from the University of North Carolina Southern Historical Collection. Materials include family papers, diaries, letters, and account books.

A collection dedicated to the life and works of Walt Whitman, including research aides.

A digital collection of hand-written texts and reproduced texts from the New York Public Library.

Collection of works and biographical information managed by the Harry Ransom Center, The University of Texas at Austin.

A collection and organization, located in Hartford, CT, dedicated to the life and works of Harriet Beecher Stowe.