Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIS 202: American History 1865 to the Present: Multimedia

Ethical Use of Multimedia

According to U.S. copyright law, any produced work, including videos, is automatically copyrighted from the moment of its creation, meaning that in order to distribute the work to others, you must seek out permission from the creator.  More and more videos, however, are being made freely and legitimately available online to anyone who wishes to watch them.

Please take a look at the following Research Guide to see how to access and use these resources ethically.

Using online multimedia

Political Cartoons

Daryl Cagle’s Political Cartoons Index      Index of current political cartoons, including those printed in International news sources.

British Cartoon Archive      Searchable archive from the University of Kent’s Templeman Library.

Audio, Video and Document Collections

American Memory, The Library of Congress

From the Library of Congress, the American Memory Program makes available infomation on different topics of American history, such as advertising, religion and Native American history, in document, photographic and audio formats.

History and Politics Out Loud

A searchable archive of audio recordings of significant speeches and events in history.

National Archives Experience Digital Vault

A searchable and browseable collection of images and informaiton from the National Archives Collection. Each search provides connections to other similar or related topics and images.

Papers of the Presidents from the Avalon Project

From the Yale Law School Lillian Goldman Law Library, the Avalon Project provides transcripts of some presidential papers, as well as a larger collection of important international papers (Nuremburg Trials, Human Rights Archive).

Miller Center

The Miller Center for Public Affairs at the University of Virginia is devoted to the discussion and debate of public policy and the U.S. Government. The site includes oral histories, presidential recordings and other multimedia.

John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum, Historical Archives

The Historical Archives section of the Kennedy Library site contains information and some access to photographs, audiovisual and audio recordings in the collection.

Nixon Presidential Library and Museum

Access to documents from the Nixon presidency, including documents, White House tapes and photographs.

Subject Librarian

Daniel Holden's picture
Daniel Holden
Contact:
Serials & Electronic Resources Librarian
Post Learning Commons and Drexel Library
Room 178
Saint Joseph's University
610-660-1984