Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Primary Sources?
A primary source is a source of information, such as
document, recording, or artifact, that has a direct connection to a
person from a period of time. Examples of primary documents are
correspondence, diaries, memoirs or oral interviews.
Primary Sources on the Web
The Library of Congress American Memory Collection
This site offers a rich collection of over 7 million American primary historical documents dating back to the 15th century. Browse to find your topic, or do a specific search, and then use the subject headings you find in relevant documents - they will be hyperlinked to other documents under the same heading.
The portal into the U.S.'s National Archives, click on "Start your Research" to investigate research paths and see what they make available online.
Chronicling America: Library of Congress
Collection of late 19th/early 20th century newspapers
DocsTeach: Digital Vaults
From the Foundation of the National Archives, this site allows you to browse or search for historical documents that span U.S. history.
U.S. Department of State - Office of the Historian
This site offers searchable collections (sometimes in full-text format, other times only in bibliographic format) of historical documents pertaining to foreign relations in the United States during the Kennedy, up to the Ford administration. Go to the 'Historical Documents' page to browse the resources by theme, by chronology, or by volumes, as they were published.
George Mason University - History Matters: The U.S. Survey Course on the Web
This site offers a searchable and browsable collection of digital primary source archives available through the open web.
Yale Law School , Lillian Goldman Law Library - Avalon Project
This site offers primary documents important to the field of law, such as agreements, treaties, accords, hearings, etc. Browse through their twentieth century collection, or search through the site for specific keywords that reflect your topic of interest.
Central Intelligence Agency - Freedom of Information Act
Search through the titles of documents that have been made available by the Freedom of Information Act. Note that these items are not full-text.
Making of America from Cornell University
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Making of America from University of Michigan
Done in collaboration with Cornell, a digital library collection of primary sources from 1850 - 1877, concerning American history from antebellum through reconstruction periods. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Forest History Society's Environmental History Bibliography
**Please copy and paste this URL into a new browser window as we cannot direct link non-https:// sites** http://prestohost26.inmagic.com/Presto/home/home.aspx
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913
A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
Primary Source Documents through Drexel Library
New York Times Index (Print) 1st Floor, Drexel Library Reference Z6953 .N56
Considered the national newspaper of record, the NYT began publishing in the 1850s. The Library has the NYT in various formats from 1851 - current. Full text articles from early dates (1851-1913) will be on microfilm.