HIS 471 Seminar: Animals in American History: Web Links

Search for digitized copies of historical print works available from dozens of research universities and college collections.

Search for digitized copies of older, out of print, and public domain texts. Especially useful for historical documents, books, and other writings.

Govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. Govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

The USDA’s National Agricultural Library (NAL) database covers animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, earth and environmental sciences.

Citations to the journal literature indexed by the National Agricultural Library including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, earth and environmental sciences.

The Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) provides information for improved animal care and use in research, testing, and teaching. Subject areas include companion, farm, and research animals. Also zoo, circus, and marine animals.

Animal-studies bibliography from scholars at Michigan State.

A comprehensive repository of information about animal law, including: over 1200 full text cases (US, historical, and UK), over 1400 US statutes, over 60 topics and comprehensive explanations, legal articles on a variety of animal topics and an international collection.

A collection of linked documents from 18th and 19th century America located in the National Library of Medicine's Medical Heritage Library Collection.

USDA digital collections including images, publications, artifacts, archives findings aids, and other digital resources.

Images, videos, documents, maps, and related content from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Archive of content (much is open access) published by the Institute.