Visual and Art Historical Context
Use these reference sources for an overview of the artistic and visual context for an artist or art object. These sources will help you develop ideas for a paper topic, argument, or research question. Search using the names of artists or artworks, or using keywords for forms, media, or other art historical concepts.
Visual and Art Historical Context
Use these online reference sources for an overview of the artistic and visual context for an artist or art object. These sources will help you develop ideas for a paper topic, argument, or research question. Search using the names of artists or artworks, or using keywords for forms, media, or other art historical concepts. You can also use print books and encyclopedias in the library collection.
An encyclopedia of global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Use the articles in this online database for an overview of the artistic and visual context for an artist or art object. These articles will help you develop ideas for a paper topic, argument, or research question. Search using the names of artists or artworks, or using keywords for forms, media, or other art historical concept. Each article includes bibliographical references.
Possible searches:
Africa: Mask and masquerade
Africa: Art of the African Diaspora
Africa Sculpture
Africa Textiles
Africa; History, Culture Patronage
*Please note, this resource allows for 8 simultaneous users. If you are unable to access, please try again after a brief wait.*
Grove Art Online Video Tutorial
Browse all openly accessible image and primary source collections on JSTOR.
Wikipedia is a great place to get background information about historical periods, social and cultural practices, political structures, art movements, and more. It is not considered as a scholarly resource. You should try to verify the information you read there and the bibliographies are sometimes helpful. Use Wikipedia in the brainstorming phase of your project.
Smarthistory: The Center for Public Art History - Africa
University of Iowa Art and Life in Africa
(Archived web page from the University of Iowa Libraries)
A History of Art in Africa
Print book in the Collection of Drexel Library - you can find it on Course Reserves at the Circulation Desk
Musée du Quai Branly – Jacques Chirac, Paris, France (Text in French - change to English in the upper right hand corner)
Royal Museum for Central Africa, Tervuren, Belgium
Ethnological Museum, State Museums of Berlin, Germany (Text in German - change to English using Google translator in the upper right hand corner)
Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, New York
Smithsonian National Museum of African Art, Washington, DC
Art Institute of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, Massachusetts
Fowler Museum at UCLA, Los Angeles, California
Penn Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Stanley Museum of Art, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa
