Research Guides: Medicine & EBM: Medicine

Medicine e-Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical database from the U.S. National Library of Medicine containing millions of citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Look for the Clinical Queries option on PubMed's homepage to help you in finding clinical studies.
Merck Manual - Professional Version (via STAT!Ref) This link opens in a new window
• General medical reference book for health care professionals.
• Companion website available free online at: www.merckmanuals.com/professional
MedAbbrev This link opens in a new window
Dictionary of medical abbreviations. Based on "Medical Abbreviations: 32,000 Conveniences at the Expense of Communication and Safety, 15th ed." by Dr. Neil M. Davis. Contains "over 37,000 possible meanings for the acronyms, symbols, abbreviations, and slang terms listed."

Medical eBooks

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 75 medical textbooks and handbooks, along with study guides and supplementary materials.
Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment This link opens in a new window
Primary care and internal medicine topics, updated annually. Included in AccessMedicine.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine This link opens in a new window
Classic internal medicine textbook. Included in both AccessMedicine and AccessPharmacy.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
The following medical and pharmaceutical texts are available in STAT!Ref:
• AAFP Conditions A to Z
• AHFS Drug Information
• Merck Manual
• Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases
• Stedman's Medical Dictionary

Books & e-Books

There are several ways to search for books and e-books in the library collection:

Interlibrary Loan
If the library doesn't have a book you need, try our interlibrary loan service. E-ZBorrow connects the SJU libraries with other academic libraries in the region. ILLiad is another way to request books from other libraries.

Featured Books from Our Collection

Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S. Bickley; Peter G. Szilagyi; Richard M. Hoffman; Rainier P. Soriano
Call Number: Griffith Library Circulation Desk - Reserves WB 205 B583 2021
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking is designed for medical, physician assistant, nurse practitioner, and other students who are learning to interview patients, perform their physical examination, and apply clinical reasoning and shared decision making to their assessment and plan, based on a sound understanding of clinical evidence.
The Language of Medicine (2011) by Davi-Ellen Chabner
Call Number: University City Library - request for pick up
The market-leader in medical terminology, Chabner's popular, proven The Language of Medicine brings medical language to life and helps you develop the understanding to communicate fluently in the healthcare setting. Terms and complex medical processes are accessible and easy to understand at all learning levels with an approach that explains terms in the context of anatomy and physiology, as well as how the body works in health and disease. Organized by body system, this combined text/workbook details additional key areas of health care, such as cancer and psychiatry, and is accompanied by full-color illustrations, exercises, and unique supplemental resources that reinforce your comprehension and help you establish the practical foundation for a successful career in healthcare.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is Google’s tool for searching scholarly literature.

Search using the link below. In your search results, look for the Find Full Text SJU link next to individual results and click it to access full text via our e-resource subscriptions. (The link should only appear next to items available in our collection.)

Important Note: Google Scholar's search results are not exhaustive, so do not assume that you have found "everything" on your topic via Scholar. It is just one tool to employ in your searches.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's search for scholarly articles. Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all disciplines. Linked to SJU holdings.