Research Guides: Pharmacy: Home

Databases for Finding Journal Articles

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical database from the U.S. National Library of Medicine containing millions of citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Look for the Clinical Queries option on PubMed's homepage to help you in finding clinical studies.
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
Index to journals in nursing, medical technology, occupational therapy, physical therapy, physician assistant studies, and other allied heath disciplines. Also includes a selection of pharmacy and pharmacology titles, many with coverage beginning in 2008.

Drug Information Resources (available through library subscriptions)

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy textbooks, case studies, drug reference, calculators and more.
AHFS Drug Information (via STAT!Ref) This link opens in a new window
Federally designated drug compendium issued by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
Facts and Comparisons This link opens in a new window
**Please login using your SJU credentials (without the "@sju.edu") and follow the instructions for access to member content.**
Content includes drug monographs and tables comparing drugs, a drug identification search engine, product availability information, and more.
Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new window
Drug information including monographs, the Natural Products Database, Trissel's IV Compatibility, patient education databases, and tools for identifying drugs and drug interactions.
Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics This link opens in a new window
The Medical Letter publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases. The online version of the Medical Letter includes material that was previously published separately as Treatment Guidelines and the Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
A collection of pharmaceutical resources that include:
• DrugDex: drug monographs with extensive reference lists;
• Martindale: information on worldwide drugs and related substances;
• Index Nominum: international drug directory;
• Red Book: drug product and pricing data.
• Trissel's IV Compatibility
*Note: Micromedex is licensed for educational purposes only; access is for current students and university employees. Micromedex may not be used at an affiliated hospital or patient care facility.
For best results, the developers of Micromedex recommended using Internet Explorer 9 or higher. The platform also supports the latest versions of Firefox, Chrome, and Safari.
PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new window
PharmacyLibrary features content from the American Pharmacists Association (APhA), including textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, a collection of Active Learning Exercises, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.
If you have trouble accessing the mobile view of this resource on your phone or tablet, switch PharmacyLibrary to the full desktop view to gain access.
USP Dictionary of USAN and International Drug Names This link opens in a new window
The USP Dictionary of United States Adopted Names (USAN) and International Drug Names is the leading reference for nonproprietary drug names and chemical structures.
• This resource allows access for 1 user at a time. To help ensure timely access for all users, please click the blue LOGOUT button (toward the top right) at the end of your session.
• If you cannot access this resource, please try again in one hour.
USP-NF: United States Pharmacopeia and The National Formulary This link opens in a new window
Monographs for drug substances, dosage forms, and compounded preparations.

Other Resources (available through library subscriptions)

AdisInsight (formerly R&D Insight) This link opens in a new window
Information on drugs in the pipeline.
• Note: You will be prompted to enter your SJU email and select preferences.
DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
DynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool that practitioners and students can use to find answers to clinical questions. Content is written by a team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis. DynaMed Plus topics are based on clinical evidence, and the content is updated multiple times each day.

Our subscription provides access to the DynaMed Plus mobile app. For download instructions, click on "more" below.
Downloading the DynaMed Plus mobile app for iPhone or Android:

• Go to DynaMed Plus using the link above.
• In the left "Spotlight" column, click on "Get the DynaMed Plus Mobile App"
• Enter your email address to receive an email with instructions and an authentication key.
• Download the DynaMed Plus app on your device and follow the instructions to authenticate.
• The authentication key is valid for 6 months at a time, at which time you will be asked to reauthenticate your app.
MedAbbrev This link opens in a new window
Dictionary of medical abbreviations. Based on "Medical Abbreviations: 32,000 Conveniences at the Expense of Communication and Safety, 15th ed." by Dr. Neil M. Davis. Contains "over 37,000 possible meanings for the acronyms, symbols, abbreviations, and slang terms listed."

Drug Information & Other Resources (available free on the Internet)

ClinicalTrials.gov (US National Institutes of Health)
Federal database of proposed, ongoing and completed clinical trials.
Daily Med: Current Medication Information (National Library of Medicine) (http://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov)
Label information for over 58,000 drugs marketed in the United States as provided to the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by drug manufacturers. These are the labels that have been submitted to the FDA and may not be the current approved label.
Drug Information Portal (National Library of Medicine) (druginfo.nlm.nih.gov)
Includes information from reliable sources on prescription and over-the-counter drugs, investigational drugs, dietary supplements, and drugs of abuse.
Drug Information Electronic Databases & Directories (National Library of Medicine)
This guide produced by NLM lists important drug information databases. Some of the databases are only available on-site at the National Library of Medicine, but many are freely available online to all users.
Drugs (US Food & Drug Administration) (www.fda.gov/Drugs)
Contains information about drug approvals, regulatory actions and other drug-related activities of the US Food & Drug Administration (FDA). The Drugs@FDA database has records for most drugs approved since 1939, and includes the approval history and the approved label for most drugs approved since 1998.
Drugs, Herbs and Supplements (National Library of Medicine) (medlineplus.gov/druginformation)
Consumer information from the MedlinePlus website, a service of the US National Library of Medicine. The information about prescription and over-the-counter medications is from AHFS® Consumer Medication Information published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. The information about herbal products comes from the Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Consumer Version produced by Therapeutic Research Faculty (a private company), or from one of the offices of the US National Institutes of Health.
Health on the Net Foundation (HON) (www.hon.ch)
Includes search engines for health and medical sites. Evaluates sites using the 8 principles of the HONcode.
Herbs at a Glance (National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health) (nccih.nih.gov/health/herbsataglance.htm)
This page contains links to fact sheets on herbs and other plants commonly used for medical or health purposes. The fact sheets provide basic information about the plants along with the scientific evidence about their use and safety. This page also has information about the HerbList app that will put much of this information on your mobile device.
MedlinePlus (National Library of Medicine) (medlineplus.gov)
Consumer information on a wide variety of health and medical topics, including drugs and supplements. For a direct link to their drug information page, see the link to 'Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information' above.
Medscape (medscape.com)
Information on diseases, drugs and health for medical and health professionals. Requires registration to use all the site; registration is free. Owned by WebMD.

eBooks on Pharmacy & Medicine

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 75 medical textbooks and handbooks, along with study guides and supplementary materials.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy textbooks, case studies, drug reference, calculators and more.
Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment This link opens in a new window
Primary care and internal medicine topics, updated annually. Included in AccessMedicine.
Goodman & Gilman's This link opens in a new window
Pharmacology text on the application of pharmacodynamics to therapeutics. Included in both AccessMedicine and AccessPharmacy.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine This link opens in a new window
Classic internal medicine textbook. Included in both AccessMedicine and AccessPharmacy.
Merck Manual - Professional Version (via STAT!Ref) This link opens in a new window
• General medical reference book for health care professionals.
• Companion website available free online at: www.merckmanuals.com/professional
PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new window
PharmacyLibrary features content from the American Pharmacists Association (APhA), including textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, a collection of Active Learning Exercises, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.
If you have trouble accessing the mobile view of this resource on your phone or tablet, switch PharmacyLibrary to the full desktop view to gain access.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
The following medical and pharmaceutical texts are available in STAT!Ref:
• AAFP Conditions A to Z
• AHFS Drug Information
• Merck Manual
• Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases
• Stedman's Medical Dictionary

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is Google’s tool for searching scholarly literature.

Search using the link below. In your search results, look for the Find Full Text SJU link next to individual results and click it to access full text via our e-resource subscriptions. (The link should only appear next to items available in our collection.)

Important Note: Google Scholar's search results are not exhaustive, so do not assume that you have found "everything" on your topic via Scholar. It is just one tool to employ in your searches.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's search for scholarly articles. Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all disciplines. Linked to SJU holdings.

Books & e-Books

There are several ways to search for books and e-books in the library collection:

Interlibrary Loan
If the library doesn't have a book you need, try our interlibrary loan service. E-ZBorrow connects the SJU libraries with other academic libraries in the region. ILLiad is another way to request books from other libraries.

How to Write a Reference

Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers. 2nd ed.
This style guide provides rules and examples for creating references for sources. It does not discuss creating superscript citations or writing style. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) created and maintains this guide. It is available free and no log in is required. This is the reference style used by the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy.

AMA Manual of Style. 10th ed.
This style guide from the American Medical Association (AMA) provides guidance on creating superscript citations and other aspects of writing in the health and medical fields. USciences username and password are required to use this link. Note: the AMA Manual of Style reference format is NOT the same as that from Citing Medicine and should not be used by Philadelphia College of Pharmacy students.