HIS 150: First Year Seminar

This site offers a rich collection of over 7 million American primary historical documents dating back to the 15th century. Browse to find your topic, or do a specific search, and then use the subject headings you find in relevant documents - they will be hyperlinked to other documents under the same heading.

The portal into the U.S.'s National Archives, click on "Start your Research" to investigate research paths and see what they make available online.

Collection of late 19th/early 20th century newspapers

From the Foundation of the National Archives, this site allows you to browse or search for historical documents that span U.S. history.

This site offers searchable collections (sometimes in full-text format, other times only in bibliographic format) of historical documents pertaining to foreign relations in the United States during the Kennedy, up to the Ford administration. Go to the 'Historical Documents' page to browse the resources by theme, by chronology, or by volumes, as they were published.

This site offers a searchable and browsable collection of digital primary source archives available through the open web.

This site offers primary documents important to the field of law, such as agreements, treaties, accords, hearings, etc. Browse through their twentieth century collection, or search through the site for specific keywords that reflect your topic of interest.

Search through the titles of documents that have been made available by the Freedom of Information Act. Note that these items are not full-text.

Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Done in collaboration with Cornell, a digital library collection of primary sources from 1850 - 1877, concerning American history from antebellum through reconstruction periods. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.