Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SJU Library Streaming Video Resources: AVON (Academic Video Online)

Overview of the streaming video content providers currently available for SJU campus members through the library.

Content & Transcripts

AVON (Academic Video Online) provides streaming video access to documentaries, newsreels, interviews, instructional videos, lectures, performances and TV programs from hundreds of content producers.  AVON content supports a wide range of subject areas and academic disciplines.

AVON pairs videos with time stamped transcripts that are keyword searchable.  Users can click on the hyperlinked text of the transcripts to jump to the associated section of the program.  Video players can be resized and include closed captioning for accessibility.

Technical Requirements

AVON provides access on both PC and Apple devices using Microsoft Edge, Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome, and Safari internet browsers. 

Mobile device access is available when using the database link.  AVON currently reports only the Sony Pictures Classics content being prohibited on mobile devices owing to licensing issues.  At this time, you must use a desktop device to watch Sony Pictures Classics content.

Platform Training & Support

AVON provides a few training videos for using the content and features on this platform.  These include help with searching for content, using the tool for making clips of longer videos, and creating playlists.

Have Questions?

If you experience any technical issues or have questions about using this content, please contact Daniel Holden, Serials & Electronic Resources Librarian (dholden@sju.edu).

Using The Site & Adding Content To Canvas

Browsing & Searching

You can browse for content by discipline or publisher by clicking on the round filter link available in the center of the screen:

This will show options for browsing by subject, publisher, content type, language, release date, and notable individuals:

You can also search for content by using the search box in the upper right corner of the screen.

 

User Accounts

You do not need to create a personal user account to view content on this platform. However, you will need to register an account by clicking on the "person" icon to the right of the search box (seen above) if you would like to save playlists or make clips of longer videos.  Be sure to use your SJU e-mail account when registering.

Making Clips & Sharing Content

Every video that you click on will open a screen that includes a video player, the transcript for the video, and a few groups of options and tools that you can use located above and below the video player.

At the bottom of the video player are options for playing, pausing, and forward/rewind options.  Above the video are links for making a shorter clip of the longer video (note: you will need to create a personal account and be logged into that account to use this feature). 

You can also use these tools change the layout of the video player and transcript boxes, as well as enabling closed captioning for the video, changing video player options, and opening full screen mode.

Above the video player are options for citing, sharing, and saving videos to your personal account playlist:

The citation link provides example citations for MLA, Chicago, and APA styles. 

You can use the Email link to share videos with other individuals at SJU (the video will only be accessible by those with SJU login credentials).

 

Adding Content To Canvas

Use the Share button to generate the URL's you need to add videos to Canvas for use in your courses. Clicking on this link provides a Permanent Link and and Embed Link. 

To link out to videos on this platform, use the Permanent Link and add this as either a hyperlink to one of your Canvas pages or add it to a Canvas module as an External URLThis link already includes the required information needed to allow off-campus users to access the content.