Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections

History of The Hawk

The Hawk has been the student newspaper of Saint Joseph's University since June, 1930 when the school was known as St. Joseph's College - fondly referred to as "St. Joe" or "St. Joe's" by some of the graduates. The Francis A. Drexel Library is the repository for the print and microfilm formats of the newspaper and has received a considerable number of requests over the years for information from its pages, particularly at reunion times. To ensure that this material will be available to alums and friends in the future, The Hawk was digitized from the microfilm holdings and more recently, scanned in color from the original newspapers.

The Hawk Digital Archive

The Hawk Archive Online encompasses approximately 50,000 images of the printed newspaper from June 10, 1930 (vol. 1, no. 1) through Commencement on May 16, 2015 (vol. 90 no.3). The content of the online archive is fully searchable and replicates the content and layout of the original newspaper page. These issues can be browsed by date or searched by keyword or date. The retrieved article or photo can be downloaded, saved, printed and even emailed - to friends or to old college classmates!

Issues of The Hawk subsequent to September 9, 2015 (vol. 94) can be found in bound volumes housed in the Francis A. Drexel Library's collection and as loose issues in the Library's Archives. Current issues of online edition of The Hawk can be found online at http://www.sjuhawknews.com.

Please Be Aware! Articles in The Hawk and, in particular, its April Fools' Day special edition, "The Squawk", sometimes take an irreverent look at life on the Saint Joseph's campus. For example: "Wild Alumni Scourge Campus" is not meant to be taken seriously. Please follow the headlines and read the articles.