"Nutshells" are compact guides that provide readers with a quick, simplified, yet thorough summation of the law. Our collection includes the following from the series:
Agency, Partnership, and the LLC in a Nutshell, 7th edition by
"This comprehensive guide explains the law of agency, partnership, and limited liability companies, and includes numerous references to the Restatement of the Law Third–Agency and the most recent versions of the partnership and LLC statutes. The authors seek to provide concise and accurate explanations of fundamental principles in these areas of the law as well as useful applications of those principles." - Publisher
Bankruptcy and Related Law in a Nutshell, 9th by
"This classic student text, used by tens of thousands of law students for over 45 years has been revised to reflect changes in case law, changes in bankruptcy practices, and changes in bankruptcy casebooks. Today's bankruptcy courses are now much more than just the automatic stay, avoiding powers, and discharge. As bankruptcy classes have become more comprehensive, more students have found this book helpful in comprehending reading assignments, class discussions, and exam questions." - Publisher
Consumer Protection Law in a Nutshell, 5th by
"This reliable source explores traditional and emerging areas in consumer protection law. Federal and state law dealing with consumer transactions is covered, including caselaw and statutes."
Contracts in a Nutshell, 8th edition by
This Nutshell provides a comprehensive guide to the law of contracts. It contains expert explanations of contract concepts under both the common law and Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code. It also includes the basics of the Law of Restitution and an introduction to digital contracting.
The Law of Corporations in a Nutshell, 8th by
"Completely revised and updated, conversational in tone, the book summarizes all major forms of business, not simply the corporation. It features numerous examples to illustrate key concepts. Comprehensive yet concise, it addresses the theory of the firm, including the emergence of greater concerns for constituencies other than shareholders, as well as the nuts-and-bolts of corporate law. It offers separate consideration of specialized issues raised in closely-held and public corporations. With updated discussion of recent case law, particularly about controlling shareholders and takeovers, the book offers detailed comparison of Delaware and other leading corporate law legislation. The book also covers relevant federal law, including Sarbanes-Oxley, Rule 10b-5, and Section 16(b). Financial and accounting concepts are explained with helpful examples, so that even sociology majors need not fear them." -- Publisher.
Video Game Law in a Nutshell by
Video Game Law in a Nutshell guides you through a video game’s entire legal life cycle. You can use this book to:
Learn to spot legal issues in video game development and publishing;
Help your organization/clients avoid liability and maximize legal protections;
Confidently chart a path through complex territory, including esports and global game ratings.
Written by two practicing, in-house video game lawyers and professors, this book provides a well-organized, practical guide to one of law’s most exciting subjects.
Business Law & Ethics, 2nd by
This volume offers an expansive overview of business law and ethics. The essay collection is broken up into several sections that describe law as it pertains to different varieties of business operation, the legal aspects of marketing, and the ethical responsibilities of corporations.
Cambridge Handbook of Corporate Law, Corporate Governance and Sustainability by
"This Handbook comprehensively assesses the state-of-the-art in this field through in-depth discussion of sustainability-related problems, numerous case studies on regulatory responses implemented by jurisdictions around the world, and analyses of predominant strategies and potential drivers of change." - publisher
We the Corporations: how American businesses won their civil rights by
"Traces the two-hundred-year history of corporate America's battle to achieve constitutional freedom from federal control, examining the civil rights debates and key events that shaped the controversial 2010 Supreme Court decision to extend constitutional protections to businesses." - publisher
Video Game Law in a Nutshell by
Video Game Law in a Nutshell guides you through a video game’s entire legal life cycle. You can use this book to:
Learn to spot legal issues in video game development and publishing;
Help your organization/clients avoid liability and maximize legal protections;
Confidently chart a path through complex territory, including esports and global game ratings.
Written by two practicing, in-house video game lawyers and professors, this book provides a well-organized, practical guide to one of law’s most exciting subjects.