Children's Literature

A collection of brief recordings of authors & illustrators
saying their names. Hello, my name is . . .

Compiles an annual annotated list of the best children's books, for birth to age 16, from the Bank Street College of Education.

Identify books on a topic by keyword.

On the website of author Cynthia Leitich Smith. Here you can find many useful topical and genre bibliographies, including multicultural resources.

Contains abstracts and subject terms (called keywords) for some 5000 picture books for preschool through 3rd grade. May be helpful in locating books for a thematic unit or lesson plan. From Miami University in Ohio.

From University of Wisconsin-Madison. Includes many recommended book lists.

Use this site to list award-winning and honor books or to create a tailored reading list of quality children's literature.

written by Perry Nodelman

European-based bibliography of children's and YA books concerning Gender Identity.

Finding aids to the papers of Lloyd Alexander, Virginia Lee Burton, Evaline Ness, and Tomi Ungerer.

All kinds of information about picture books, including history and design.

Discussions about children's literature and social justice issues.

Features 49 annotated fairy tales, including their histories, similar tales across cultures, modern interpretations and over 1,500 illustrations.

The Resources section includes booklists and guildelines for identifying culturally authentic international children’s literature. From the University of Arizona.

Includes over 6000 digitized books from the University of Florida. One useful feature is browse by genre, e.g., fairy tales or folk tales.

2000 images illustrating classic tales told to children, created from about 1800-1923.

http://www.childrensbooksonline.org/
A large collection of illustrated antique books; you can search for a specific title, or browse by age/reading level.

Several collections related to children's literature: the deGrummond collections of books and of manuscripts, as well as the Ezra Jack Keats and H.A. and Margret Ray papers. Located in McCain Library at the University of Southern Mississippi.

http://www.childrenslibrary.org/
A free online collection of children's books in many languages.

Read thousands of folktales and fairy tales from around the world found in full-text eBooks, some including history and criticism.