Research Guides: Biology: Articles

Biology / Science Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical database from the U.S. National Library of Medicine containing millions of citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Look for the Clinical Queries option on PubMed's homepage to help you in finding clinical studies.
BMC (BioMed Central) This link opens in a new window
Open-access, peer-reviewed journals from all the major biological and medical disciplines.

ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology
A subset of ProQuest Research Library containing articles about Science and Technology.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Research concerning human impact on the environment from a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library of the USDA.

Index to American Botanical Literature
One of the resources from the New York Botanical Garden. Provides bibliographic data both on books and articles in periodicals appearing since late 1995.
more...less...
Index for the years 1967-1995 are found in JSTOR in the Bulletin of the Torrey Botanical Club.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides a synthesis of the most significant primary research literature yearly in selected fields.
PLOS This link opens in a new window
Open-access scholarly journals in the biological and medical sciences.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
Open access archive of scholarly articles in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Finance, Statistics, and Economics.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical database from the U.S. National Library of Medicine containing millions of citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Look for the Clinical Queries option on PubMed's homepage to help you in finding clinical studies.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's search for scholarly articles. Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all disciplines. Linked to SJU holdings.