Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Adam Matthew Digital

Description of databases included in our platform access

First World War

This group of four collections contains a number of additional features that can help increase engagement with the collections and the history.  There is a group of interactive maps accessible through a visual chronology of events that display battle sequences and timelines as they played out across countries and territories.  Groups of films and oral histories provide a different access point to the collection materials.  Collections of original maps provide coverage of battlefields, trench networks, and areas caught in conflict. 

The collection features a a digital walkthrough of multiple sections of a preserved trench network outside of Ypres, named Sanctuary Wood.

There is a large collection of artwork organized by various themes that serves as a visual gateway to the First World War.  Themes include: battlefields, women at war, and medical services. There are also collections from war artists including Paul Nash, Olive Maude-Cooke, William Orpen, and Beatrice Lithiby. 

Thematic case studies introduce an array of subjects and link to documents and materials found in the collection. Themes include: animals at war, censorship, the Christmas Truce, food and rationing, literature, trench life, trench literature, propaganda, peace negotiations, and charities.

Medical Services and Warfare, Module One

Service Newspapers Of World War Two: Module One