Research Guides: Adam Matthew Digital: British National Archives: Foreign Office and Confidential Print

Confidential Print and Foreign Office Files

These collections are hosted on the Adam Matthew Archives Direct platform and are drawn from the The National Archives, Kew, in the United Kingdom, and gather a wide range of documents and material types from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Confidential Print contains papers and records from the British Foreign and Colonial Offices. Foreign Office Files contains diplomatic and government reports and collections of materials from the countries/regions specified.

The Archives Direct platform also hosts collections related to the government of Prime Minister MacMillan and his Cabinet (1957-1963), the presidency and Anglo-American relations of the Richard Nixon administration (1969-1974), as well as a collection titled "Women in the National Archives", focusing on the British Women's Suffrage campaigns (1903-1928) and women's suffrage in the colonies (1930-1962).

Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980

Access & Description

Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980
British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980. Also includes previously restricted letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies and first-hand accounts of events.
more...less...
For a description of what you can find, please see this document from the vendor.

Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966

Access & Description

Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966
Complete volumes of all British Government Confidential Print for Africa documents, from the Colonial, Dominion, Foreign and War Offices, including hundreds of color maps. Documents provide coverage from early coastal trading through World War Two and moves toward independence.
more...less...
For a description of what you can find, please see this document from the vendor.

Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969

Access & Description

Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969
British Confidential Print documents for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.
more...less...
For a description of what you can find, please see this document from the vendor.

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969

Access & Description

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
British Confidential Print documents for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
more...less...
For a description of what you can find, please see this document from the vendor.

Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961

Access & Description

Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America, and covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism and the nuclear bomb.
more...less...
For a description of what you can find, please see this document from the vendor.

Foreign Office Files For China, 1919-1980

Access & Description

Foreign Office Files For China, 1919-1980
All British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980

Foreign Office Files For India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, 1947-1980

Access & Description

Foreign Office Files For India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
Files from the British Foreign Office and Dominions Office focus on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan.

Foreign Office Files For Japan, 1931-1952

Access & Description

Foreign Office Files For Japan, 1931-1952
Our access includes Sections 1 and 2 of this collection, focusing on Japanese imperialism, war in the Pacific, and the occupation of Japan.

Foreign Office Files For The Middle East, 1971-1981

Access & Description

Foreign Office Files For The Middle East, 1971-1981
Three modules focusing on the 1973 Arab-Israeli War and Oil Cris, the Lebanese Civil War and Camp David Accords, and the Iranian Revolution and the Iran-Iraq War. Content includes several types of primary source material from the National Archives, UK.

MacMillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963

Access & Description

MacMillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963
Documents from the highest level of government during the administration of Prime Minister Macmillan. Original documents from correspondence and discussions with international leaders, Cabinet Records and Minutes, and other sources for Cold War world history and British politics.
more...less...
For a description of what you can find, please see this document from the vendor.

Nixon Years, 1969-1974

Access & Description

Nixon Years, 1969-1974
Top-level Anglo-American discussions and briefing papers dominate make up the core of this collection. Strong coverage of US policy decisions; White House staff appointments and UN discussions; views on Europe; Nixon’s battles over funding from Congress; and the internal situation in the US and domestic reform.
more...less...
For a description of what you can find, please see this document from the vendor.

Women In The National Archives, Kew

Access & Description

Women In The National Archives, Kew
Original documents cover the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928 and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962.