Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Adam Matthew Digital

Description of databases included in our platform access

China, America, and the Pacific

An interactive map that displays trade and exploration voyage routes.  The map also displays ports that have associated documents in the database (clicking on the ports brings up a list of related documents).  

A listing of thematic areas that group documents found in this collection. These entries provide short introductions to the thematic area along with links to notable documents.   There are also a few lists of popular search terms that act as shortened indexes to content found in the collections. These can be great starting places for finding topics/locations covered in the collection that you might not have thought to search for initially.

A collection of online exhibitions provide introductions and access points to the context and content found in this collection.

China: Culture and Society

China: Trade, Politics, and Culture, 1793-1980

East India Company

An extensive government structure chart breaking out key government office holdings in the United Kingdom and India.  Names and dates of office are linked to short descriptions that provide connections to documents found in the collection. 

There is a data visualization tool that displays East India Company trade between 1760 and 1834 that allows you to select specific markets and commodities. The tool provides import/export data to show the balance of trade as well.  You can update the date ranges in the tool to specify specific years and shorter periods.  

A users guide provide a helpful walkthrough on working with the company records provided in this collection.

Empire Online

Access an interactive map that provides coverage of world empires, discovery routes, and colonization.  Also, a large group of essays written by scholars focusing on themes and topics found in this collection.  The essays provide valuable context and link to pertinent documents and sources within in the collection. 

 

Foreign Office Files For China, 1919-1980

Foreign Office Files For India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, 1947-1980

Foreign Office Files For Japan, 1931-1952

Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement, and Colonial Encounters

An extensive group of historic maps focusing on Africa, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and multiple American regions.

Introductions to frontier studies through video interviews with scholars from the field, as well as their essays. 

Access the collections through interactive search directories that provide indexed keywords, names, places, and subjects.  Select individual entries or group several together from the same directory to conduct searches.  

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration, and Cultural Exchange

Access online exhibitions detailing each of the commodities featured in this collection.  Additionally, thematic galleries pull together images and other resources from this collection that fit certain broader topics such as: cultivation, advertising and consumption, social practice, production, health and welfare, and transportation. 

There are interactive maps highlighting trade and discovery routes, empires, commodity production and trade, and economic zones.  Further, reproductions of historic maps are gathered together from the collection in one location for faster browsing and discovery.

Listings of popular searches act as a brief index of the collection as well as a discovery tool, helping to identify topics, places, and keywords to dig deeper into the available documents and resources. 

India, Raj, and Empire

Medieval Travel Writing

Meiji Japan

Migration To New Worlds

Collection highlights include convict and transportation records for individuals sent to Australia, immigration oral histories, and a group of interactive research tools, including maps and tours of the New York Tenement Museum.

Travel Writing, Spectacle, and World History