Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Adam Matthew Digital

Description of databases included in our platform access

Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980

Church Missionary Society Periodicals, 1804-2009

Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969

Empire Online

Access an interactive map that provides coverage of world empires, discovery routes, and colonization.  Also, a large group of essays written by scholars focusing on themes and topics found in this collection.  The essays provide valuable context and link to pertinent documents and sources within in the collection. 

 

Foreign Office Files For The Middle East, 1971-1981

Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement, and Colonial Encounters

An extensive group of historic maps focusing on Africa, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and multiple American regions.

Introductions to frontier studies through video interviews with scholars from the field, as well as their essays. 

Access the collections through interactive search directories that provide indexed keywords, names, places, and subjects.  Select individual entries or group several together from the same directory to conduct searches.  

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration, and Cultural Exchange

Access online exhibitions detailing each of the commodities featured in this collection.  Additionally, thematic galleries pull together images and other resources from this collection that fit certain broader topics such as: cultivation, advertising and consumption, social practice, production, health and welfare, and transportation. 

There are interactive maps highlighting trade and discovery routes, empires, commodity production and trade, and economic zones.  Further, reproductions of historic maps are gathered together from the collection in one location for faster browsing and discovery.

Listings of popular searches act as a brief index of the collection as well as a discovery tool, helping to identify topics, places, and keywords to dig deeper into the available documents and resources. 

Medieval Travel Writing

Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice, 1490-2007

Explore a large group of court documents from the lower and Supreme Courts of North Carolina, Georgia, Louisiana, and Missouri.  Tutorials introduce the documents and help in navigating the content.

An extensive collection of digitally reproduced historic maps from the 1500's through 1800's focusing largely on Africa and including the Caribbean and North America. 

Lists of popular searches act as shortened indexes to the collection and can help identify topics, keywords, names, and places from the collection.