Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Adam Matthew Digital

Description of databases included in our platform access

Age of Exploration

Essays and video interviews with scholars provide useful introductions to the topics covered in this collection. Finding and discovery aids provide interesting entries to the collections through thematic areas and search directories.

This collection has a map section that provides an interactive globe with routes of exploration that you can watch, as well as historic maps depicting exploration areas from around the world. 

Empire Online

Access an interactive map that provides coverage of world empires, discovery routes, and colonization.  Also, a large group of essays written by scholars focusing on themes and topics found in this collection.  The essays provide valuable context and link to pertinent documents and sources within in the collection. 

 

First World War

This group of four collections contains a number of additional features that can help increase engagement with the collections and the history.  There is a group of interactive maps accessible through a visual chronology of events that display battle sequences and timelines as they played out across countries and territories.  Groups of films and oral histories provide a different access point to the collection materials.  Collections of original maps provide coverage of battlefields, trench networks, and areas caught in conflict. 

The collection features a a digital walkthrough of multiple sections of a preserved trench network outside of Ypres, named Sanctuary Wood.

There is a large collection of artwork organized by various themes that serves as a visual gateway to the First World War.  Themes include: battlefields, women at war, and medical services. There are also collections from war artists including Paul Nash, Olive Maude-Cooke, William Orpen, and Beatrice Lithiby. 

Thematic case studies introduce an array of subjects and link to documents and materials found in the collection. Themes include: animals at war, censorship, the Christmas Truce, food and rationing, literature, trench life, trench literature, propaganda, peace negotiations, and charities.

Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement, and Colonial Encounters

An extensive group of historic maps focusing on Africa, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and multiple American regions.

Introductions to frontier studies through video interviews with scholars from the field, as well as their essays. 

Access the collections through interactive search directories that provide indexed keywords, names, places, and subjects.  Select individual entries or group several together from the same directory to conduct searches.  

Gender: Identity and Social Change

Several thematic essays introduce various aspects of the content and context found in this collection along with three video interviews with scholars from the field.  The platform also provides a group of thematic image galleries and document collections that act as gateways to collection materials.

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration, and Cultural Exchange

Access online exhibitions detailing each of the commodities featured in this collection.  Additionally, thematic galleries pull together images and other resources from this collection that fit certain broader topics such as: cultivation, advertising and consumption, social practice, production, health and welfare, and transportation. 

There are interactive maps highlighting trade and discovery routes, empires, commodity production and trade, and economic zones.  Further, reproductions of historic maps are gathered together from the collection in one location for faster browsing and discovery.

Listings of popular searches act as a brief index of the collection as well as a discovery tool, helping to identify topics, places, and keywords to dig deeper into the available documents and resources. 

Migration To New Worlds

Collection highlights include convict and transportation records for individuals sent to Australia, immigration oral histories, and a group of interactive research tools, including maps and tours of the New York Tenement Museum.

Service Newspapers Of World War Two: Module One

Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice, 1490-2007

Explore a large group of court documents from the lower and Supreme Courts of North Carolina, Georgia, Louisiana, and Missouri.  Tutorials introduce the documents and help in navigating the content.

An extensive collection of digitally reproduced historic maps from the 1500's through 1800's focusing largely on Africa and including the Caribbean and North America. 

Lists of popular searches act as shortened indexes to the collection and can help identify topics, keywords, names, and places from the collection.  

Travel Writing, Spectacle, and World History

World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions

Tools and features include: thematic essays introducing the history and context of the fairs, collections of audio recordings of people attending various fairs, and interactive site plans illustrating the design and layout of displays and exhibit areas.

Travel Writing, Spectacle, and World History